Nine manners to pray of Dominique - 1st meditation

Publié le : 31 juillet 2015

Dans cette première méditation, Sr Catherine Aubin, nous invite à poser un nouveau regard sur les neuf manières de prier de Dominique.

The first friars, those who knew Dominic, all say the same things about his attitude during prayer :
o He cried out and wept
o He did not own a bed : he prayed all night long.
o He used gestures.
The authors of the Rossanius Codex wanted their readers to identify with Dominic’s prayer and to transmit it. What a treasure they left us !
During this retreat, we are invited to learn from these “icons”.

Regarding the nine ways of prayer :

First stage :
1) Bow
2) Prostration
3) The discipline
4) Genuflection, kneeling
Two words summarize this stage : the acceptance of ourselves, of our limitations and shortcomings ; the welcoming of God in us, of what we are called to become, as though the Lord were saying : “Free yourself from yourself, and let me enter.” The second word about this stage is a preposition : with—with the Lord, with ourselves, with others.
A verse from the Bible corresponds to this : “Speak, O Lord, your servant is listening.”

Second stage
5) Dominic is standing with an attitude of listening
1) Dominic’s arms are extended in the form of a cross, a stance of life, of face-to-face encounter
2) His uplifted hands signify ecstasy, a standing “outside of self”. He asks for the gifts of the Holy Spirit for his brothers.
The preposition in applies here : in Him.
A bible verse : “I call you friends.” (Jn 15:15)

Third stage
8) Dominic is in constant motion, listening, and involved in loving dialogue
9) Dominic sets out on the road : itinerancy
One word summarizes this stage : the gift.
One preposition applies here : for.
A Bible verse : “Those who remain in me and I in them bear much fruit.”
The goal of these nine ways of prayer is that we discover how to reach our own interior dwelling.
They correspond to this question in Genesis 3 : “The Lord asked Adam, Where are you ?”
 We are invited to ask ourselves that question. We can begin by considering four great emotions that arise every day : fear, sadness, anger, joy.
Conclusion :
St. Therese of Lisieux compared the human heart to a lyre, a zither with four strings, to help us understand the love of God, others, and ourselves ; the four strings correspond to four types of love :
-  Filial string : to love as a child, as a child of God the Father. First stage : to allow ourselves to be loved by the Father
-  String of sisterly love : Second stage : Jesus is our brother ; we do the Father’s will
-  Spousal string : husband and wife (8th way of praying). Dominic is the spouse of Christ
-  Parental string : Dominic in the 9th way of prayer becomes a father

Écrire un commentaire
  • Votre nom

  • Message